South Goa District trip planner

Create a fully customized day by day
itinerary for free
Trip Planner Asia  /  India  /  Goa  /  South Goa District

South Goa District

Beaches · Waterfalls · Spas
South Goa is one of two districts that comprises the state of Goa in West India, within the region known as the Konkan. It is bounded by the district of North Goa to the north, the Uttara Kannada district of Karnataka state to the east and south, while the Arabian Sea forms its western coast.The colours in the adjoining image:Red: Velhas Conquistas (old Portuguese conquests)Pink: Novo Conquistas (new Portuguese conquests)Yellow: District CapitalHistoryThe Portuguese established a colony in Goa in 1510 and expanded the colony to its present boundaries during the 17th and 18th centuries. Goa was annexed by India on 19 December 1961. Goa and two other former Portuguese enclaves became the union territory of Goa, Daman and Diu, and Goa was organised into a single district in 1965. On 30 May 1987 Goa attained statehood (while Daman and Diu became a separate union territory), and Goa was reorganised into two districts, North Goa and South Goa.AdministrationAnjali Sehrawat, an officer of the Indian Administrative Service, is the Collector and District Magistrate of South Goa. There are Deputy Collectors and Mamlatdars for each Taluka.The headquarters of the district is Margao.
Make South Goa District central to your India travel plans using our India trip planning site.

Plan your trip to South Goa District

  • Get a personalized trip
    A full day by day itinerary based on your preferences
  • Customize it
    Refine your trip. We'll find the
    best routes and schedules
  • Book it
    Choose from the best hotels and activities. Up to 50% off
  • Manage it
    Everything in one place. Everyone on the same page.